A Codelson Photoblitz

This week was brutal at work but I finally made the time to do a little photo-blitzing on Friday afternoon.  The photos were taken at home during the precious 1 hour and 30 min. I get to spend with my daughter on weekdays between work and her bedtime.  You’ll see that she is the star of my photos and that my world clearly revolves around her.  I had taken a look at the list and written down a few ideas for some of the photos and thought I could wing the rest.  I was wrong – some of them were a lot harder than they looked! Also not sure I was at my creative best.  If my daughter isn’t in the photo she was riding along in my arms so I admit I was a bit distracted. Nonetheless it was a fun exercise to look at things differently in my own home.  Obviously, my favorite photo is the one that represents joy (my daughter smiling!) and my other favorite is the one that looks like her toys are talking to each other – that’s probably my most creative one.  I had lots of toys to choose from but I decided the doll and the circus monkey probably had the most to say 🙂

Here’s the original list of photos to take.  I scratched off the ones that I wasn’t able to get.  You can view the images in my gallery below.

  • Take a photo dominated by a single color.
  • Take a photo of an interesting shadow.
  • Take a photo of something futuristic.
  • Take a photo at an unusual angle, e.g. looking looking up at something or looking down at something, or from the view of an ant.
  • Take a photo into bright light.
  • Take a photo of someone else’s shoe or foot.
  • Make an inanimate object look alive.
  • Make a photo that uses converging lines to draw us into the photo
  • Take a photo of two things that do not belong together.
  • Take a photo that shows a repeating pattern.
  • Take a photo where you move the camera as you take the photo, so it gives the subject a suggestion of motion.
  • Take a photo that is looking through a frame or opening to something else.
  • Take a photo that represents joy.
  • Make a photo that is abstract, that would make someone ask, “Is that a photograph?”
  • Take a photo that represents a metaphor for complexity.
3 thoughts on “A Codelson Photoblitz

  1. I never look at a list as partly empty- it’s all about the ones that you were able to get, and how you found it to try and figure out what matches (there are no wrong answers). I really like the tiny foot one, the bright colors and the shallow depth of field that make the foot stand out. And of course, I see a lot of joy there. I hope it was a good use of that precious time.

  2. Really cool photo blitz! For the pictures you took, I was able to guess which ones answered witch topics! I like the “foot in focus” one as well since it narrows in on something for the foreground and adds depth to the photo – essentially it draws in the viewer appropriately. The only one I had a little difficulty identifying was the “frame” photo as the objects in the background were cluttered so I wasn’t sure what the main subject was. Nice job!

    • Thanks! Now that I think about it, my framed photo really didn’t have a subject, I think I was too wrapped up in finding the frame to have focus on a subject. Whoops!

Leave a Reply

