Soundclouding

DS106 has kicked off some adventures in audio this week.  I don’t have a lot of experience with audio editing so this should be interesting.  I’ve got my SoundCloud account set-up  and I’m starting my first assignment on Tuesday evening so I’m already feeling like I can’t lose.  I’ve never heard of SoundCloud before but I’m always game to try something new.

Here’s a sample of my first audio endeavor on SoundCloud.  I chose to give a little weather report since it’s on my mind given how drastically it’s changed in the last 36 hours.

I found SoundCould easy to use and easy to embed into this post.  I shouldn’t be surprised at how intuitive some of these tools are but I always am. Perhaps I’m just grateful! Tomorrow’s mission – figure out the audacity software so I can continue to tackle this week’s DS106 work one day at a time.

3 thoughts on “Soundclouding

  1. Great job on your first week 5 post! I love the family photo at the Tidal Basin with the cherry blossoms! I also found SoundCloud easy to use and am hopeful that by posting my first assignment early in the week, it won’t be too much of a time crunch towards the latter end of the week. When you did the weather report, did you read from printed material, or did you just do it on the fly? The newscast was flawless 🙂

  2. It sounds really clear, and natural; it gives us a sense you are talking to us — the forecast is almost “Nice with a Chance of Crappiness” (at least thats what it looks like sitting in Arizona sunshine hearing all the crazy winter weather from that way).

    Now when you start editing with Audacity you can learn how to put a layer of background music or sound effects (thunder? rain?) to make the soundscape more rich.

Leave a Reply

