A Day on the Farm

As I mentioned in my post earlier this week, we’re playing with sound this week in DS106.  For this assignment, I needed to come up with a story and tell it using just sounds.  I’m not sure exactly how I was inspired but I decided that farm noises would be a good base for a quaint little story.

I found some great farm sounds on Freesound.org.  The site made it really easy to search and find what I was looking for although I did have to sift through some recordings of humans making animal sounds to get to the good real animal noises.  That was weird.  I was tempted to use the recording of the random guy bleating like a goat but decided against it.  A couple of sounds and a few Audacity YouTube tutorials later and I was well on my way to creating my story about a day on the farm.  Using Audacity was easier than I thought it would be once I learned a few of the basics.  Below is a screen capture of my work in progress. This only shows a few of the tracks but gives you an idea of how I layered them and spaced them out over time.  I used copy/paste to repeat sounds that I thought were too short. I also used the fade in and fade out effects to give the effect of closeness as well as for the sake of blending.

Here’s a screen shot of my handiwork:Image

So this is a story of a day on the farm.  There’s a farm “chatter”, let’s call it, that runs throughout the track.  You’ll hear the chickens pipe up early on to start the day, then there’s the occasional cow and goat that make themselves known as they go about their business on the farm.  Then, the farmer goes by on his tractor.  After a long day’s work, you’ll hear the farmer relaxing in a rockin’ chair on the front porch, drinking his sweet tea.

And here’s the result ( I went over the 90 sec. time limit for this, but I got carried away…)

3 thoughts on “A Day on the Farm

  1. Awesome job on your sound effects story. I like the intro with the birds and chickens then the rooster really helps set the setting, I immediately pictured a sunny morning. I did think the farm animals were a bit intrusive and maybe too loud, maybe fainting their noises to make it seem like they are far away in the distance. The ending with the rocking chair was a good effect, although a bit creepy, it summed up the hard days work!

  2. This is a stupendously good effort for your first audio editing, the layering is impressive, and the construct of a story is well done.

    The levels are something well edited with the envelope tool, where you can make sounds loud or soft at different points in time.

    Wow! You are on your way with audio.

Leave a Reply

